Next Level

The relationship between me and my two budgies moved on to the next level: when I hold food into the cage, they come to my hand. Still, without food my hand is some ‘evil-moster-demon-thing-from hell’, but maybe they will come to step on my hand eventually. I would really very much appreciate it. Currently the only reason for them to sit on my hand is, when they land somewhere in my room, from where they cannot start again. So I give them a ride on my hand. But they start as soon as they see a chance, so last time Kiro( the other is named Ao) crashed directly into my face, because he started rather blindly I would presume. Luckily, he did not hurt himself.

They also learned a trick, which is very annoying: they learned to reproduce he sound of an incoming message in a skype chat. It can be quite annoying, if you have a chat that is rather slow and 90% of the time you believe a new message has arrived, it was your birds. They also make a sound which reminds me of the *iek iek iek* from the flipper series. But they only use it rarely.

For other budgie-owners out there: the first question most people ask on seeing my birds is: “Do they talk?” closely followed by “Can I hold one on my hand?” I can understand the second question, as I would really very much love it, if my sweethearts would sit on my hand, but why do people think budgies have to talk? I would really appreciate comments on that.

Leave a Reply

