VNV Nation + Guests, Hannover

Yesterday night I went to the VNV Nation concert at the Capitol in Hannover. As special guests Rotersand and Frozen Plasma were expected. The Capitol is an old cinema which has been converted into a place for live concerts and  parties. There is still a balcony, which can be used as well and the floor is made from wood, which is very comfortable for your feet. I really like the flair of the location.

Because the A37 it closed completely from the cross A37/A2 my navigational system and I got into some heavy dispute about which route to take, so I ended up driving around the city of Hannover for close to 45 minutes. It took me quite some time to figure out how to stop the fucking little piece of annoying hardware from trying to get me back on the closed road. (They seem to be renovating a bridge…) So I missed the first act of the evening and arrived when Rotersand were already half through their set list. Still they were really nice, the atmosphere was great – it was a great party and I even knew some songs! Their show was full of energy and the had a DJ on stage so most songs came with a new sound for me.

Next were VNV Nation. What could you say? Maybe just use Ronan’s own words: “Das ist einfach wunderbar!” After the first song the crowd was cheering for some minutes and you could see that the musicians on stage were taken by surprise completely. From the first few chords to the last unanswered calls for an enchore (unfortunately everybody wants to call it a day at some point) the concert was one great party. People were dancing and singing along during the songs and frenetically cheered for the band on stage and singing a melody line from the song “Perpetual”  (du-du-duu-dudududu) –  so when they ended their concert with this song the crowd was going crazy.

Seeing the expression on the musicians faces and the sparkling in their eyes during the show, I am quite sure, they enjoyed it as much as the audience.

A little annoying was one person, who seemed to take a video of the whole concert, which in turn made Ronan quite angry. Twice he demanded that guy to stop – maybe he did, maybe he didn’t – I don’t know. The guy was on the balcony.

After the concert, I went to the aftershow party at Dark Star club. The party was really nice. And the DJ was really good. He played EBM – electronic sounds whatever stuff and had a really nice playlist. The club itself is rather strange – I don’t know if I like it, yet. On the one hand it is decorated like a spaceship, with alien figures and metal and mirrors and the like and on the other hand it just looks like a plain entrance hall of a former business building which has been converted into a dance club. Strange combination and a very small club, too.

After the concert I noticed that there was not one single piece of Frozen Plasma merchandise but Solar Fake instead… Please don’t tell me I missed Solar Fake. Please.

I would really very much like to know how Ronan and the whole band would describe the Hannover show from their point of view. Really. VERY VERY MUCH. *curious* ^_^

Leave a Reply

