Rock Harz 2009 Day 01 – July 9th

Well, after we arrived at Ballensted airfield we found, that things were already quite chaotic. The roadies who were showing you were to park and set up your tent were telling everyone just to look for some space to stay – and that’s it. The camping site looked exactly like that: People started parking every where, for some there was no way to get out – neither for emergency services to get in. But Mr Nicolaus and I found ourselves a nice place from which we could even leave early, should we want to. The weather was nice and so were our neighbours. Very good start.

The first day was fun metal day. Well. Maybe. At first two newcomer bands played, the first was nice, the second was crap.

The Fiddler’s Green entered the stage. Their music is somewhere along the lines of Irish-folk-punk, and I didn’t expect too much, since I never found anything I liked along their songs. But I have to say: on stage they were really great! They even made the crowd do a wall of death and a circle pit around the technician’s tower while playing an accoustic song! No, I didn’t take part because I am not into pogo and anything that’s alike. But it was fun to watch!

While Mr Nicolaus and I got something to eat from the car, the Schröders started playing, and I really regret, that we missed most of their performance. They were really great – and unfortunately this gig was part of their farewell tour. I really had problems getting “Frösche weinen nicht” out of my head. A song about being a metal parent was also really cool. I am still looking for that one.

Next were EAV – Erste Allgemeine Verunsicherung. They really were out of place. They did their best, enjoyed their time, but I don’t want to see them live ever again. They simply do not fit on a metal festival. They played most of their old ‘hits’. But they didn’t really reach the more or less sober part of the crowd, those drunken enough were even partying in front of an empty stage. 😉

Last act for the day were J.B.O. I really looked forward to seeing them live on stage. And the sow was sooooo great! I even wore a pink t-shirt! But it was too cold to show. They played lots of their old hits, and the crowd happily partied alon! Cheering and singing and answering every “Danke Rock Harz!” with a “Bitte Vito!” (or “Bitte Hannes!” but that was rather complicated on first try 😀 ). And they played “Verteidiger des wahren Blödsinns” which I soooooo love.

All in all great first day.

PS: I am far to lasy today to look up all the band’s homepages. Just ask uncle google 😉

Leave a Reply

